Blogia
reigersmants

MERAKI, the new kid in town

MERAKI, the new kid in town

I've started writing back in my blog on a daily basis, and since I've some free time, I've also started reading other blogs as well.

Today I've left a couple of posts at Martin Varsavsky's blog questioning FON and WHISHER's business models, and today I've heard about MERAKI, the new kid in town.

Well, it is not the new kid in town, since it isn't exactly new, but it comes to compite with the Spanish start-ups in the WiFi world. MERAKI promises us something similar to FON and WHISHER, and that is just to have a WiFi connection when we are out of home, if we share our own connection.

It seems that the idea started at MIT, as a doctoral reseach project of one of its Ph.D. candidates to provide wireless access to graduated students.

Meraki is based in Mountain View, California, and is backed in part by Google.

 

1 comentario

Mike Puchol -

I believe you somehow missed the model that Meraki follows - they are about selling hardware and backend management system to create meshed networks to cover large areas, and very excellent hardware & backend at that. I've had a chance to try it and it was the easiest and most pleasing experience from a user/installer point of view. I can honestly say that they deserve the investment from Sequoia, they worked hard to make it happen!

Regards,